Loudon County School District

Skip to main content
Mobile Menu
SRO - School Safety » Teen Driver License Info

Teen Driver License Info

  Loudon County Sheriff ’s
Office
 
Tennessee’s Graduated Driver License (GDL) Program is a multi-tiered program designed to ease young novice drivers into full driving privileges as they become more mature and develop their driving skills. By requiring more supervised practice, the State of Tennessee hopes to save lives and prevent tragic injuries. Tennessee’s GDL Program started on July 1, 2001. It places certain restrictions on teens under the age of 18 who have learner permits and driver licenses. The program requires parent/legal guardian involvement, and emphasizes the importance of a good driving record.
 
Sheriff Tim Guider and the Men and Woman of the LCSO truly believe this program helps our young teens become responsible and safe drivers. LCSO Deputies strictly enforce the driving restrictions of the GDL program. Parents please talk to your young drivers and ensure they understand and are following the GDL restrictions and guidelines as well as all traffic laws of the State of Tennessee.
LEVEL 1
LEARNER PERMIT (PD)
Requirements:
15 years old
Vision Exam
Knowledge Test
SF-1010 School Form
Parent Signature
Proof of U.S. Citizenship/Lawful Permanent Residency
Issued For: 12 months*
Restrictions:
Accompanied by licensed driver 21+ in front seat
No driving between 10 p.m. and 6 a.m.
Seat belts mandatory for driver, front seat occupants, and passengers under 18
(child restraint devices for 9 & under)
All cell phone use prohibited
 
LEVEL 2
INTERMEDIATE RESTRICTED (IR)*
Requirements:
16 years old
Valid PD held for 180 days
SF-1256 Form certifying 50 hours driving experience (must include 10 hours at night)
Pass Driving Test
Cannot have 6 or more points in last 180 days
Issued For: Until age 21
Restrictions:
One passenger in car*
No driving between 11 p.m. and 6 a.m.
Seat belts mandatory for driver and front seat occupants.
Seat belts mandatory for driver, front seat occupants, and passengers under 18 (child restraint devices
for 9 & under)
All cell phone use prohibited
 
LEVEL 3
INTERMEDIATE UNRESTRICTED (IU)*
Requirements:
17 years old
Valid IR for 1 year • Must not have accumulated 6 or more points on driving
record, an at-fault accident or a 2nd seat belt conviction. (Note: Conviction of 2nd
seat belt violation adds 90 days waiting to the IR. )
Issued For: Until age 21
Restrictions:
Seat belts mandatory for driver, front seat occupants, and passengers under 18
(child restraint devices for 9 & under)
All cell phone use prohibited
 
LEVEL 4
REGULAR CLASS D DRIVER LICENSE*
Requirements:
18 years old
Issued For: Until age 21 (“Under 21” indicator will remain)
Restrictions:
Seat belts mandatory for driver, front seat occupants, and passengers
under 18 (child restraint devices for 9 & under)
All cell phone use prohibited
TN Drivers License Site and Info " Click Here"